Logo Mast Image

What We've Done

"Everyone who gets sleepy at night should have
a simple decent place to lay their heads, on terms
they can afford to pay."

2007 was a milestone for Clay County Habitat for Humanity, Inc. as we celebrated our 30th anniversary.

Penney Farms partners

The CCHH history is rich in partnership and fellowship. Emanating from the Penney Partners, we owe much to the original members who left a true legacy in Clay County with their work handling renovations in the area. Among the original Penney Partners are Joseph and Mildred Burnett, Mr. Dillener, and Alex Elsesser. Joe was the first president of Penney Partners, in 1976. Mildred was the first Family Selection Chair for CCHH. The Pollard Home in Green Cove Springs was named in memory of Joe Burnett.

Penney Farms partnersIn May 1999 CCHH purchased land in Orange Park South, and broke ground in October 1999 on 23 homes, called Woodpecker Cove.

On Wall Street in Green Cove Springs in 2006, the Sheriff's office DART'ed a home and CCHH purchased the lot, demolishing the home. Many volunteers, including Sheriff Beseler and other CC Sheriff's office staff, assisted in building a four bedroom which held hope for the CCHH homeowner - our Dope to Hope home.

Three homes on Forbes Street in Green Cove Springs were completely constructed by VP-30 volunteers, who participated daily over 3 months in winter 2006 - spring 2007. We are fortunate that the military comprises a large element of our volunteer force.

In winter 2009, CCHH became Energy-Star certified on all new construction.

In February 2009, CCHH dedicated a home constructed with one of our newest elevations. This enhancement is intended to allow us an even better fit in the communities we build in, and more diversity when we build numerous homes in close proximity. As always, the challenge is to make determinations that balance a desired effect with building an affordable product.

Mildred Burnett

Our Leadership Legacy:
CCHH Board Presidency
Joseph Burnett, Penney Partners 1976
Kenneth L. Cober, Penney Partners
Bill Higgins
Roger Cross
Danny King
Steve Latham 1998-2001
Jay Oliverio 2001-2002
Kathy Hill 2002-2004
Terry Rollen 2004-2005
Phyllis Vancas 2005-2007
Jerry Kemp 2007-2008
Gordon Jesperson 2008-2010
Randy Mangum 2010-2012

Proud To Be